Wake County Suspended License Attorney
Honest and Efficient Legal Support for Driving with a Suspended License in Raleigh, Cary, Apex, Wake Forest, Holly Springs, and Fuquay-Varina
If you’ve had your license suspended or revoked, you cannot legally drive again until the suspension period is over and you have paid your reinstatement fee to the DMV.
Most revocations and suspensions are a result of failure to take care of old tickets. Attorney Kissling can help you resolve your old tickets so you can get your license reinstated.
Our Wake County suspended license attorney has been representing clients for over 3 decades, and he practices exclusively in traffic-related cases. He will provide the straightforward advice you need to navigate the consequences of a suspended license charge.
Let our Wake County suspended license attorney get you back on the road as soon as possible. Contact Lawrence J. Kissling III, PLLC for a free consultation today at (919) 346-7927!
Reasons for License Suspension or Revocation
There are several scenarios in which your license may be suspended or revoked by the North Carolina Department of Transportation. For one, if you accumulate more than 12 points on your driver’s license over the course of 3 years, you will face license suspension for:
- 60 days for a first offense;
- 6 months for a second offense;
- 1 year for a third or subsequent offense.
Accumulating 8 points within 3 years after the reinstatement of your license could lead to another suspension.
Failure to resolve old tickets will result in an indefinite suspension. This suspension will remain until all of your old tickets have been resolved.
You may also face license suspension or revocation for other offenses, such as:
- failing to stop after an accident;
- refusing or failing to submit to a chemical test (under North Carolina’s DWI laws);
- driving on a suspended license;
- committing a felony with a motor vehicle;
- accumulating two or more reckless driving convictions;
- failing to pay your child support obligation;
- illegally transporting alcoholic beverages;
- failing to pay required court costs and fees.
You will not be allowed to operate your motor vehicle until after the suspension or revocation period is over. After that, your license will not be automatically reinstated; you must pay a reinstatement fee (typically $65 or $130 for impaired driving offenses) and meet certain requirements, such as not violating any rules that would require another suspension.
How to Reinstate a Suspended License in NC
Having your license suspended in North Carolina can be an intimidating experience, as the process to get it reinstated can be complex and confusing.
The first step is to check with the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for information about the specific requirements for reinstatement. In general, suspension periods range from one month up to a year or more, depending on the circumstances of your suspension. Once the suspension period has ended, you will need to pay an additional fee to reinstate your license. The DMV may also require you to reapply for a new driver's license and take and pass any required tests, including vision and/or road skills, before reinstating your suspended license.
You may also need to provide evidence that the reason for suspension has been resolved (such as proof of insurance or payment of outstanding fines). Sometimes, you may need to complete an approved driver's education course before having your license reinstated. The DMV sets reinstatement fees and can vary depending on the type and length of your suspension. Ensure all documents and forms are filled out correctly when applying for reinstatement, as failure to do so can result in additional delays or even a denial of reinstatement.
By consulting with our Wake County suspended license attorney who understands motor vehicle laws throughout North Carolina, you could save valuable time, energy, and money by making sure that all documentation and instructions are being followed correctly when applying for re-licensing—thereby avoiding potential delays or denials due to incomplete forms or incorrect information.
What Happens If You Drive on a Suspended License?
It is a misdemeanor traffic offense to drive while your license is suspended or revoked. Most such offenses will be charged as Class 3 misdemeanors, but the offense may be charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor if your license was suspended for a DWI.
If you were convicted of any moving violation while your license was suspended, you will face additional suspension of:
- 1 year for a first offense;
- 2 years for a second offense;
- permanent suspension for a third or subsequent offense.
Driving on a suspended license is one of the more serious traffic offenses that could lead to criminal penalties. If you’ve been stopped for driving on a suspended or revoked license in Wake County, reach out to Lawrence J. Kissling III, PLLC immediately for legal support. Attorney Kissling can assess your situation and explore several options you have for contesting the charge or arguing for mitigated penalties. Don’t risk a long-term or even permanent license suspension without a legal fight.
In addition to getting your license reinstated, attorney Kissling can help you get a limited driving privilege, which will allow you to driving to work and for maintenance of your household, in the event you can not get your license reinstate immediately.
Contact Lawrence J. Killing III, PLLC for a free initial consultation to discuss your legal options. Representing drivers in Raleigh, Cary, Apex, Wake Forest, Holly Springs, and Fuquay-Varina.